Defeat in the Cup Final

On this Easter Monday, purple and white played the final of the Belgian Cup at the King Baudouin Stadium. Yari Verschaeren and Sergio Gómez were in the starting line-up for the final against AA Gent. RSC Anderlecht lost in a penalty shootout (4-3).

Gent put the pressure on from the start and Hendrik Van Crombrugge had to save a header from Michael Ngadeu. Sporting responded after ten minutes, but Davy Roef stopped Yari Verschaeren's shot. After that, the game became more even. However, Gents goalkeeper had to save another attempt by Yari Verschaeren on the half hour mark. The Buffalos responded with a shot from Vadis Odjidja that just missed the target and a header from Roman Bezus that was disallowed. 0-0, score at the break.

Right after the break, Hendrik Van Crombrugge blocked an attempt by Roman Bezus and a powerful shot by Vadis Odjidja. After 60 minutes Benito Raman, Francis Amuzu and Majeed Ashimeru came on for Joshua Zirkzee, Yari Verschaeren and Kristoffer Olsson. Anderlecht suddenly had a little more control over the game. Majeed Ashimeru unfortunately got injured and Marco Kana came on. However, chances were much more scarce in the second half for both sides. The end of regulation time was reached with a logical draw.

To start the extra time, Lior Refaelov gave way to Anouar Ait El Hadj. He was soon in a dangerous position but could not finish. Christian Kouamé then missed the target after a great team effort. In the second half, the Anderlecht crowd pushed the players to make the difference. A nice volley from Josh Cullen missed the target. A few moments later, Hendrik Van Crombrugge, Wesley Hoedt and the crossbar saved Sporting. The penalty shootout was inevitable and also fatal...

KAA Gent : Roef, Torunarigha, Ngadeu, Okumu, Samoise (105’ Owusu), Kums (105’ Hanche-Olsen), Odjidja (68’ Hjulager, 90’+2 Nurio), De Sart, Castro-Montes, Bezus (88’ Lemajic) & Tissoudali (90’ Malede)

RSCA : Van Crombrugge, Murillo, Hoedt, Magallan, Gomez, Cullen, Olsson (57’ Ashimeru) (75’ Kana), Refaelov (90 ‘ Ait El Hadj), Verschaeren (57’ Amuzu), Zirkzee (57’ Raman) & Kouamé

Read more