RSCA 1-1 Villarreal CF

RSC Anderlecht faced Villarreal CF on Thursday night in the first 16th final of the UEFA Europa Conference League. Compared to last weekend's match, coach Brian Riemer made three changes to his lineup: Moussa N'Diaye, Lior Refaelov and Benito Raman replaced Killian Sardella, Majeed Ashimeru and Islam Slimani at kickoff. RSCA had to settle for a draw after a very good collective performance.

Anderlecht started the match well and put the Spaniards under pressure in the first quarter of an hour. Benito Raman even found the net quickly, but he was flagged for offside. After that, the visitors got into the game better and on the half hour an animated match began. Bart Verbruggen had to stop a low shot by Samu Chukwueze. RSCA replied immediately through Benito Raman (well served by Francis Amuzu) whose shot was well blocked by Pepe Reina. On the next attack, Villarreal did hit the mark. Samu Chukwueze found Manu Trigueros well isolated at the far post, and he made it 0-1 at halftime.

At the beginning of the second half, Bart Verbruggen had to intervene well on a shot by Álex Buena. But just before the hour, the Mauves were finally rewarded for all their efforts. Francis Amuzu intercepted well and delivered the ball to Anders Dreyer who beat Pepe Reina unstoppably with a magisterial distance shot: 1-1. Moments later, the experienced goalkeeper saved another attempt by Benito Raman, who was again flagged for offside. In the pouring rain, Sporting seemed to gain confidence, but a header by substitute Islam Slimani was saved by Pepe Reina. Sporting played a strong game, but could not get any further ahead. Everything will be so decided in the return game at Villarreal.

RSC Anderlecht

Presented by Delta Investment Tracker

  • Bart Verbruggen (GK)
  • Amir Murillo
  • Zeno Debast
  • Jan Vertonghen ©
  • Moussa N'Diaye
    (85' Killian Sardella)
  • Amadou Diawara
  • Lior Refaelov
    (73' Majeed Ashimeru)
  • Yari Verschaeren
  • Francis Amuzu
    (64' Mario Stroeykens)
  • Benito Raman
    (64' Islam Slimani)
  • Anders Dreyer
    (85' Nilson Angulo)

Villarreal CF

Presented by Delta Investment Tracker

  • Pepe Reina (GK)
  • Cuenca Barreno
  • Juan Foyth
  • Daniel Parejo
  • Samu Chukwueze
    (58' Yeremy Pino)
  • Johan Mojica
  • Manu Trigueros ©
    (73' Ramon Terrats)
  • Álex Baena
    (73' Giovani Lo Celso)
  • José Luis Morales
    (73' Jackson Nicolas)
  • Aïssa Mandi
  • Jorge Pascual
    (58' Gerard Moreno)

Read more