Defeat in the Brussels derby

This Sunday, RSC Anderlecht travelled to the Dudenpark for the Brussels' derby against Union. Felice Mazzù changed his team in two positions after the long and intense European game against Young Boys. Lior Refaelov and Fábio Silva were given rest, Sebastiano Esposito and Benito Raman replaced them in the starting line-up. 

Union managed to score a very quick goal when Bart Nieuwkoop took the ball from Francis Amuzu and Victor Boniface found the net. Not much later, Amir Murillo was sent through on goal and didn't miss. Before the break, Dante Vanzeir managed to put Union in front again. 

At the start of the 2nd half, Mazzu made three changes. Francis Amuzu, Marco Kana and Benito Raman were replaced by Noah Sadiki, Lior Refaelov and Fábio Silva. Our captain Hendrik Van Crombrugge displayed some exquisite saves to deny Union a third goal.

At the other end, Sebastiano Esposito could have scored after a good cross from Amir Murillo. Mario Stroeykens came on as well and Sporting pushed for the equalizer. Two penalties were called of by the VAR and the resulting free kick by Lior Refaelov was saved byUnion goalkeeper Anthony Moris. The score remained the same and thus RSC Anderlecht suffered its second defeat of the season.

More photos from the match

Line-up RSC Anderlecht

Presented by Delta Investment Tracker

  • Hendrik Van Crombrugge
  • Zeno Debast
  • Wesley Hoedt
    (74' Mario Stroeykens)
  • Hannes Delcroix
  • Amir Murillo
  • Francis Amuzu
    (46' Noah Sadiki)
  • Marco Kana
    (46' Lior Refaelov)
  • Kristian Arnstad
    (37' Kristoffer Olsson
  • Yari Verschaeren
  • Benito Raman
    (46' Fábio Silva)
  • Sebastiano Esposito

Line-up Union Saint-Gilloise

Presented by Delta Investment Tracker

  • Anthony Moris
  • Bart Nieuwkoop
  • Victor Boniface
    (70' Simon Adingra)
  • Lazare Amani
  • Dante Vanzeir
  • Christian Burgess
  • Teddy Teuma
    (80' Oussama El Azzaouzi) 
  • Senne Lynen
    (62' José Rodriguez)
  • Ross Sykes
    (62' Ismaël Kandouss)
  • Siebe Van Der Heyden
  • Loïc Lapoussin

Read more