Bellamy quits RSC Anderlecht due to health problems

CRAIG BELLAMY

Assistant coach Craig Bellamy will leave the coaching staff of RSC Anderlecht on Monday. Bellamy already struggled with mental problems in the past and these have resurfaced again recently. With his departure, the Welshman took a very difficult, but absolutely necessary decision concerning his health. Bellamy said goodbye to the players in the dressing room on Sunday afternoon after the 7-2 victory against KV Mechelen.

Bellamy arrived at RSC Anderlecht in the summer of 2019 as coach of the U21. Earlier this year, he joined the first squad as an assistant coach to Vincent Kompany. His experience as a striker in the Premier League and his drive took our young squad to a higher level. Both coach Vincent Kompany and Director of Sports Peter Verbeke want to thank Bellamy explicitly for his efforts and show great understanding for Bellamy's brave decision.

"The enormous energy Craig has given us all is priceless. It is therefore logical that we must give him all the time and rest he needs. The whole club stands firmly behind him in this difficult period", said Peter Verbeke.

Do you struggle with mental problems yourself? Or do you feel the need for a conversation? Talk to your doctor, or contact one of the many organisations that can help you. Follow the links below to find out where in Flanders, Brussels or Wallonia.

Flanders

Brussels

Wallonia

Read more

Embedded thumbnail for Cup U21: RSCA 2-1 Union
Video
Our U21 qualified for the next round in the Cup. Watch the highlights from the game against Union.

Craig Bellamy quitte le RSCA pour des raisons de santé

CRAIG BELLAMY

L'entraîneur adjoint Craig Bellamy quittera le staff sportif du RSC Anderlecht ce lundi. Craig Bellamy avait déjà lutté contre des problèmes mentaux par le passé et ceux-ci ont repris le dessus récemment. Avec ce départ, le Gallois prend une décision très difficile, mais absolument nécessaire pour sa santé. Il a dit au revoir aux joueurs anderlechtois dans le vestiaire ce dimanche après la belle victoire 7-2 contre le KV Mechelen.

Le Gallois était arrivé à Neerpede lors de l'été 2019 en tant qu'entraîneur des U21. Plus tôt cette année, il a rejoint l’équipe première en tant qu'entraîneur adjoint de Vincent Kompany. Son expérience en tant qu'attaquant en Premier League et son dynamisme ont permis au jeune noyau du RSCA d'atteindre un niveau supérieur. L'entraîneur Vincent Kompany et le directeur sportif Peter Verbeke tiennent à remercier chaleureusement Craig Bellamy pour ses efforts et ils font preuve d'une grande compréhension pour la décision très courageuse de Bellamy.

"L'énorme énergie que Craig nous a apportée à tous est inestimable. Il est donc logique que nous lui donnions tout le temps et le repos dont il a besoin pour se retrouver pleinement. L'ensemble du club le soutient totalement dans cette période difficile", lançait Peter Verbeke.

Êtes-vous aux prises avec des problèmes mentaux ? Ou avez-vous besoin de parler à quelqu'un ? Agissez. Parlez-en à votre médecin ou contactez l'une des nombreuses organisations qui peuvent vous aider. Suivez les liens suivants pour savoir où vous pouvez vous adresser en Flandre, à Bruxelles ou en Wallonie.

Flandre

Bruxelles

Wallonie

Lire plus

Game’s on. Samen voor een vol en veilig stadion zondag. Consultez ici toutes les mesures pour encourager les Mauves en sécurité. 🟣⚪
Game’s on. Samen voor een vol en veilig stadion zondag. Consultez ici toutes les mesures pour encourager les Mauves en sécurité. 🟣⚪